The seven main markets that use advanced materials

Our materials processing industry members work in seven main markets:

  • industrial equipment
  • packaging and the printing industry
  • construction and housing
  • healthcare
  • transport and mobility
  • human well-being and safety
  • tableware and household appliances
What can materials do for the industrial equipment market?

The industrial equipment market presents new opportunities for high-performance technical textiles and functionalized materials, above all. We have identified six priority areas: filtration, energy (efficiency, storage and transport), electronics, the printing industry, events, agriculture and agribusiness.

This market’s developments and innovations tackle multiple topics:

  • thermal performance at high or low temperatures
  • filter media with a large specific surface area
  • reducing weight and increasing strength
  • high-performance biobased materials
  • high-performance composites
  • recycling
  • prototyping
  • design and personalisation
  • sensor integration
  • traceability

We work on industrial equipment with industry leaders such as Dunkerque LNG (a methane tanker terminal) and Enedis (an electricity network) and include our business members in these consultations with our Journées Grands Comptes (major investor events).

What can materials do for the packaging market and the printing industry?

Manufacturers in the packaging industry have high expectations in terms of innovation and novel materials. This reflects increasingly restrictive legislation in France and Europe and major environmental challenges (recycling, alternatives to fossil-based resources, combatting marine pollution, etc.). And, of course, end consumers have high expectations. They want packaging to be practical and functional.

Today’s consumers aren’t waiting for 2050: they already want packaging that is easier to read, opens and closes effortlessly, and, once used, can be easily and infinitely recycled.’ • Fabrice PeltierL’emballage à l’aube de sa révolution (October 2018)

schema-emballages-primaires-secondaires-tertiaires

Innovative materials for packaging cover two of the three priority market areas: primary packaging (food, cosmetics, pharmaceuticals and technical products) and secondary packaging.

Although it is novel plastics (recycled plastics, or ones made from natural resources) that are experiencing rapid development, research & development (R&D) in the sector has turned its attention to all packaging materials.

Today’s challenges actually present opportunities for manufacturers and brands: they can reinvent themselves and shape how we consume in the future, with a focus on:

  • production accounting for environmental factors: resources / energy / zero waste / recyclability / CSR
  • cost reductions
  • security, personalisation, traceability, tamper resistance and verification features
  • extension of expiration dates
  • health (e.g., endocrine disruptors)
  • communication and marketing

There wouldn’t be much in the way of packaging without printing! We believe the printing industry and the packaging sector go hand-in-hand.

The printing sector is confronted with restrictions that are both industrial (technological changes, environmental requirements, etc.) and economic (strong competition from abroad, content dematerialisation). Printers are trying to reposition themselves to focus on services with high added value, for example by diversifying into data management, pivoting towards the high-end press, or providing design and communication consultancy services.

The main issues currently affecting printers include:

  • competition from digital offerings
  • regulations governing the use of products essential to their activity (solvent-based products)
  • collection and disposal of waste (packaging made of plastic, cardboard or wood, processing and packaging waste, inks, varnishes, solvents, films, plates, etc.)
  • discharge of wastewater into the natural environment
  • volatile organic compound (VOC) emissions (mainly on large production sites)

To address the challenges facing the printing and packaging industry, businesses must innovate and modernize their methods. This is exactly what projects such as EIPIT, DECOUVERRE, DrawSpeedGlass, Terafood and CrispyPack are doing.

What can materials do for the construction and housing market?

Construction is one of France’s biggest economic sectors, representing 170 billion euros, 1.4 million employees and 536,000 businesses, making France the European leader in construction (source: 14th European Powers of Construction study).

The construction sector represents 40% of CO2 emissions. In the interests of sustainable development, the sector is progressively replacing standard materials with new materials that improve buildings’ carbon footprints in connection with recycling, air quality and emissions, and plant-based materials, for example, not forgetting resistance to bad weather conditions and other climate disruptions.

Innovations and developments in construction and housing address the following topics:

  • insulation / temperature and acoustic regulation / airtightness
  • resistance to bad weather conditions and climate disruptions
  • plant-based materials
  • recycling
  • air quality and emissions
  • soil remediation
  • retention basins
  • vertical gardens / planted roofs
  • integration of sensors into structures
  • collecting solar energy
  • fire protection
  • replacement of hazardous compounds / allergens
  • design and personnalisation

We have identified four priority areas for innovation for our members in this market: cladding and coverings, insulation membranes and airtightness, structures (tensile and solar protection), and ventilation.

We are also involved in the ‘Habitat bio-inspiré’ (bio-inspired housing) working group led by Ceebios, and have ties with several industry leaders, including Saint-Gobain, Soprema, LR, Castorama and Rabot-Dutilleul.

SILENCIO and ISOLPAC are among the projects we have supported in the construction and housing market.

What can materials do for the healthcare market?

France’s directorate-general for business (DGE) defines the healthcare industry as follows:

‘The healthcare industry is a strategic field with a total turnover of more than 65 billion euros. It directly supports 211,000 jobs. With the shared goal of healthcare, it encompasses human and veterinary medicine, medical devices, and in vitro diagnostics.

An extremely diverse group of businesses make up the field, with huge potential for research and innovation. The pharmaceutical sector includes large French and international organisations, but also small and medium-sized chemicals enterprises and contract manufacturers which produce drugs. Most wholesalers, distributors and logistics specialists involved in the distribution of drugs are SMEs. Furthermore, of the 820 businesses involved in R&D and/or the production of medical devices and in vitro diagnostic devices, 94% are small to intermediate in size, with fewer than 250 employees.’

Novel materials are mainly used in the following areas: medical devices, textiles for hospital equipment, personal care and hygiene, e-health, and hospital linen.

The challenge? To address our ageing population by developing products and services that solve the issues posed by the silver economy and meet the expectations of citizens and healthcare professionals. There are several avenues to explore for the design of novel materials:

  • traceability
  • supports and braces
  • biocompatible compounds
  • drug-eluting medical devices
  • inserting sensors into textiles
  • ecodesigned hygiene products
  • recyclability of single-use items
  • personalisation
  • comfort / warmth
Quand les textiles techniques tissent des liens avec le médical : le regard d’EuraMaterials

More information on this subject (in French): Quand les textiles techniques tissent des liens avec le médical.

We work with Clubstar NSL and Eurasanté in the healthcare and medical devices market, chiefly through the MDTex project.

Other examples of healthcare projects include AUTOTHERM² and TEXTRONIC (development of products and processes to insert electronics into clothing and textile-based medical devices).

What can materials do for the transport and mobility market?

We are travelling more and more. The number of airline passengers increased by 7.2% in one year, there have never been so many cars on Earth (253 million of them for 512.6 million inhabitants in Europe), and workers in France spend on average 7 hours and 12 minutes travelling each week (all transport methods taken together). [Source: an impressive infographic from France’s agency for the environment and energy management (ADEME) in partnership with Qu’est-ce qu’on fait ?!]

The transport and mobility market poses issues concerning health and the environment as well as performance, including recyclability, indoor and outdoor air quality, reducing the weight of materials and energy consumption, developing composites made from agricultural waste, and integrating sensors into structures.

We help businesses solve these challenges using novel processes and materials, with a direct connection to our partners in the transport and mobility sectors, such as ARIA and Transalley.

What can materials do for the human well-being and safety market?

We have identified five materials-related priority areas in the human well-being and safety market: emergency services and the armed forces, protection (thermal, ballistic, chemical, etc.), lace, sports and recreation, and everyday uses.

On the one hand, this sector is restructuring and offshoring its production facilities. On the other, we have noted an increase in demand for products made in France and high expectations for upcycled* products and smart clothing.

* ‘Upcycling: the process of making adaptations to used items so as to increase their value, practical benefits and/or perceived beauty. Upcycling is also known as creative reuse and is seen by some as the opposite of traditional recycling. Industrial upcycling describes the use of technologies to reduce waste and resource consumption by creating a high-value product from waste or byproduct streams.’ • Definition from edie.net

There are numerous challenges associated with innovative materials in this sector:

  • comfort / thermal regulation
  • thermal or mechanical resistance to extreme conditions
  • multifunctional biobased materials
  • replacement of hazardous compounds
  • competitively priced instrumented structures
  • traceability / anti-counterfeiting
  • competitively priced recycling / upcycling, ecodesign
  • design / personalisation
  • smart clothing technologies

Examples of projects currently working on these topics: AUTOTHERM², RETEX and SmartX.

What can materials do for the tableware and household appliances market?

Consumer interest in tableware and household appliances has been rising in recent years, with a growing demand for products made in France.

The priority areas of this market are glass or plastic items, household linen, furniture, seating and bedding, and decoration.

In terms of materials, this market is strictly regulated by European legislation and controls on volatile organic compound (VOC) and NOx (highly reactive gases containing nitrogen and oxygen) emissions, as well as indoor air pollution and suspected carcinogens.

Our areas of innovation for this sector’s materials mainly concern ecodesign, recycling and new natural materials, replacement of heavy metals, weight reduction and structural optimisation, traceability and anti-counterfeiting, and 3D printing, to tackle the following challenges:

  • alternative glass-making processes
  • adaptation to short time to market / customisation cycles
  • product safety
  • recyclability
  • alternative materials

Examples of active projects in this field include: DECOUVERRE, DRAWSPEEDGLASS and CONVERT UV.

retour en haut

Les 7 marchés prioritaires utilisateurs de matériaux avancés

Nous avons identifié 7 principaux marchés pour lesquels œuvrent nos membres des industries de transformation des matériaux :

  • les équipements pour l’industrie,
  • l’emballage et l’industrie graphique,
  • le bâtiment et l’habitat,
  • la santé,
  • les transports et la mobilité,
  • la protection et le bien-être de la personne,
  • les arts de la table et les équipements de la maison.
Les matériaux au service du marché des équipements pour l’industrie

Le marché des équipements pour l’industrie présente notamment de nouveaux débouchés pour les textiles techniques haute performance et les matériaux fonctionnalisés, que nous avons identifiés pour 6 segments prioritaires : la filtration, l’énergie (efficacité, stockage et transport), l’électronique, l’industrie graphique, l’événementiel, l’agriculture et agro-industrie.

Les innovations et développements de ce marché s’emparent de multiples sujets :

  • la performance thermique haute ou basse températures,
  • les médias filtrants à haute surface spécifique,
  • l’allègement et le renforcement,
  • les matières biosourcées haute performance,
  • les composites haute performance,
  • le recyclage,
  • le prototypage,
  • le design et la personnalisation,
  • l’intégration de capteurs,
  • la traçabilité.

Nous travaillons sur le sujet des équipements pour l’industrie en collaboration avec des donneurs d’ordres comme Dunkerque LNG (terminal méthanier) ou Enedis (réseau d’électricité), et ouvrons ces réflexions à nos entreprises membres via des « Journées Grands Comptes ».

Les matériaux au service du marché de l’emballage et de l’industrie graphique

Les attentes des industriels de l’emballage-packaging sont fortes en termes d’innovations et de nouveaux matériaux, au regard des les législations de plus en plus contraignantes (France et Europe) et des grands enjeux environnementaux (recyclage, alternatives aux ressources fossiles, lutte contre la pollution des océans…). Sans oublier les attentes des consommateurs finaux, qui demandent la praticité et la fonctionnalité des packagings.

« Sans attendre 2050, les consommateurs d’aujourd’hui souhaitent des emballages plus lisibles qui s’ouvrent, se referment plus aisément et qui, une fois utilisés sont plus facilement recyclables à l’infini… » • Fabrice Peltier, L’emballage à l’aube de sa révolution (octobre 2018)

schema-emballages-primaires-secondaires-tertiaires

Les innovations matériaux pour l’emballage concernent prioritairement 2 des 3 segments du marché : les emballages primaires (alimentation, cosmétiques, pharmaceutique, produits techniques) et les emballage secondaires.

Si les nouveaux plastiques sont en plein essor (plastiques à base de ressources naturelles ou bien recyclées), les travaux de recherche & développement (R&D) du secteur e concernent bien l’ensemble des matériaux d’emballage.

Les enjeux actuels sont autant d’opportunités pour les industriels et les marques de se renouveler et d’imaginer la nouvelle consommation de demain, autour des sujets :

  • de production sous facteurs environnementaux : ressources / énergie / zéro déchet / recyclabilité / RSE,
  • de réduction des coûts,
  • de sécurisation, de personnalisation, de traçabilité, d’inviolabilité, des témoins de contrôle,
  • du recul de la date limite de consommation (DLC),
  • de la santé (ex : perturbateurs endocriniens),
  • de la communication et du marketing.

Sans impression, peu d’emballages ! Nous associons au secteur de l’emballage l’industrie graphique et l’imprimerie.

Le secteur de l’imprimerie est confronté à la fois à des contraintes de nature industrielle (évolutions technologiques, obligations environnementales…) et de nature économique (forte concurrence étrangère, dématérialisation des contenus…). Les imprimeurs tentent de se repositionner sur des prestations à forte valeur ajoutée (diversification dans la gestion de données numériques, orientation vers la presse haut de gamme, conseil en création et communication…).

Les principales problématiques qui touchent actuellement les imprimeurs sont :

  • la concurrence du numérique ;
  • les conditions d’utilisation des produits indispensables à leur activité (produits à base de solvants) ;
  • la collecte et l’élimination des déchets (emballages en plastique, en carton ou en bois, déchets de façonnage et d’emballages, encres, vernis, solvants, films, plaques) ;
  • les rejets aqueux dans le milieu naturel ;
  • les émissions de composés organiques volatiles (COV) – plutôt sur les grands sites de production.

Pour répondre aux challenges de l’emballage et de l’industrie graphique, les entreprises doivent innover et faire évoluer leurs pratiques, à l’instar des projets EIPIT, DECOUVERRE, DrawSpeedGlass, Terafood ou CrispyPack.

Les matériaux au service du marché du bâtiment et de l’habitat

Le bâtiment est l’un des premiers secteurs économiques français, représentant 170 milliards d’euros, 1,4 million de salariés et 536 000 entreprises ; ce qui place la France en tant que leader européen de la construction. (Source : 14ème étude « European Powers of Construction »)

Sur le plan du développement durable, le secteur de la construction représente 40 % des émissions de CO2, ce qui induit le remplacement progressif des matériaux classiques par de nouveaux matériaux qui améliorent le bilan carbone des bâtiments, en lien avec le recyclage, la qualité de l’air et des rejets, et les matériaux à base ressources végétales… sans oublier la résistance aux intempéries & autres dérèglements climatiques.

Les innovations et développements du bâtiment et de l’habitat traitent des sujets suivants :

  • isolation / régulation thermique et phonique / étanchéité,
  • résistance aux intempéries et dérèglements climatiques,
  • matériaux à base de ressources végétales,
  • recyclage,
  • qualité de l’air et des rejets,
  • dépollution des sols,
  • bassins de rétention,
  • structures végétalisées,
  • intégration de capteurs dans les structures,
  • captation de l’énergie solaire,
  • protection au feu,
  • remplacement des composés à risque pour la santé / allergies,
  • design et personnalisation.

Nous avons pour ce marché identifié 4 segments prioritaires d’innovation pour nos membres : les revêtements, les membranes d’isolation et d’étanchéité, les structures (tendues et protection solaire…), la ventilation.

Nous nous impliquons notamment dans le groupe de travail « Habitat bio-inspiré » piloté par le Ceebios, et entretenons des relations avec plusieurs donneurs d’ordres comme Saint-Gobain, Soprema, LR, Castorama, Rabot-Dutilleul…

Parmi les projets que nous avons accompagnés pour le marché du bâtiment et de l’habitat, citons SILENCIO et ISOLPAC.

Les matériaux au service du marché de la santé

La Direction générale des entreprises (DGE) présente ainsi les industries de santé :

« Les industries de santé constituent une filière stratégique au chiffre d’affaires global de plus de 65 milliards d’euros et comptant 211 000 emplois directs. Autour de l’objectif commun de santé, elles rassemblent le médicament humain et vétérinaire, le dispositif médical et le diagnostic in vitro.

La filière est composée d’entreprises très hétérogènes aux grandes potentialités de recherche et d’innovation. Le secteur pharmaceutique comprend de grands groupes nationaux et internationaux, mais également de petites et moyennes entreprises de chimie et de façonnage pour la production des médicaments ; les grossistes-répartiteurs et les logisticiens dépositaires, concernant la distribution des médicaments, sont principalement des PME. Par ailleurs, parmi les 820 entreprises ayant des activités de R&D et/ou de production de dispositifs médicaux et de dispositifs de diagnostic in vitro, 94 % sont des PME/ETI de moins de 250 salariés. »

Les nouveaux matériaux sont prioritairement utilisés pour les segments suivants : dispositifs médicaux, équipements textiles hospitaliers, soin et hygiène, e-santé, textiles hospitaliers.

L’enjeu ? Répondre au vieillissement de la population en développant des produits et des services répondant aux enjeux de la silver économie, des attentes des citoyens et des professionnels de santé. Cela se traduit en plusieurs pistes pour la conception de nouveaux matériaux :

  • Traçabilité
  • Aide au maintien
  • Compound biocompatible
  • Greffage principes actifs contrôlés
  • Instrumentation des textiles
  • Produits d’hygiène éco-conçus
  • Recyclabilité articles à usage unique
  • Personnalisation
  • Confort / chaleur

Nous coopérons avec Clubster NSL et Eurasanté sur le marché de la santé et les dispositifs médicaux, notamment au travers du projet MDTex.

Autres exemples de projets “santé” : AUTOTHERM² et TEXTRONIC (développement de produits et de procédés d’intégration d’électronique dans les vêtements et dispositifs médicaux textiles).

Les matériaux au service du marché des transports et de la mobilité

On compte toujours plus de déplacements : le nombre de voyageurs aériens a augmenté de 7,2 % en un an, il n’y a jamais eu autant de voitures sur Terre (253 millions de voitures pour 512,6 millions d’habitants en Europe), et un Français actif passe en moyenne 7h12 par semaine dans les transports (tous transports confondus). [Source : une très belle infographie ADEME en partenariat avec Qu’est-ce qu’on fait ?!]

Nous relevons pour ce marché des transports et de la mobilité des enjeux de santé, d’environnement ainsi que des sujets de performance, tels que la recyclabilité, la qualité de l’air interne et externe, l’allègement des matériaux et réduction d’énergie, le développement de composites agro-sourcés, l’intégration de capteurs dans les structures.

Nous accompagnons les entreprises pour répondre à ces enjeux grâce à de nouveaux procédés & matériaux, en lien direct avec nos partenaires du secteur des transports et de la mobilité tels l’ARIA, Transalley.

Les matériaux au service du marché de la protection et du bien-être de la personne

Nous avons identifié dans le marché de la protection et du bien-être de la personne 5 segments prioritairement intéressés par les matériaux : la sécurité civile et l’armée, la protection (thermique, balistique, chimique…), la dentelle, les sports et loisirs, les usages au quotidien.

D’un côté, ce secteur se restructure et déplace ses outils de production ; de l’autre, on observe une hausse de la demande de production française et de fortes attentes pour les produits issus de l’upcycling* et pour les vêtements connectés.

* « L’upcycling consiste à utiliser des objets et des matériaux destinés à être jetés pour les réintroduire dans la chaîne de consommation, après leur avoir redonné une valeur, une utilisation différente, une destination originale par rapport à celle qui était originellement la leur. Cette action de recyclage s’insère dans une volonté plus large de développement durable. » • Glossaire e-marketing.fr

Les enjeux liés aux innovations des matériaux sont nombreux pour ce secteur :

  • Confort / régulation thermique
  • Résistance thermique ou mécanique aux conditions extrêmes
  • Matériaux biosourcés multifonctionnels
  • Substitution de composés à risque
  • Structures instrumentées à prix compétitif
  • Traçabilité / contrefaçon
  • Recyclage / upcycling à prix compétitif, éco-conception
  • Design / personnalisation
  • Technologies pour vêtements connectés

Exemples de projets en cours sur ces thématiques : AUTOTHERM², RETEX, SmartX.

Les matériaux au service du marché des arts de la table et des équipements de la maison

L’intérêt des consommateurs pour les arts de la table et les équipements de la maison est en hausse ces dernières années, avec une demande croissante de produits made in France (fabriqués en France).

Les segments prioritaires de ce marché sont les articles en verre ou en plastique, le linge de maison, le mobilier, les sièges et literie, la décoration.

Côté matériaux, ce marché est fortement contraint par la législation européenne et par les surveillances d’émissions de composés organiques volatiles (COV) et de gaz NOx (des gaz hautement réactifs contenant de l’azote et de l’oxygène), en lien avec la pollution de l’air intérieur et les suspicions de risques cancérigènes.

Nos pistes innovation pour les matériaux de ce secteur concernent notamment l’écoconception / le recyclage / les nouveaux matériaux organiques, la substitution métaux lourds, l’allégement et optimisation structurelle, la traçabilité et contrefaçon, l’impression 3D… afin de répondre aux enjeux suivants :

  • procédés de fusion alternatifs,
  • adaptation aux séries courtes time to market / customisation,
  • sécurité sanitaire des produits,
  • recyclabilité,
  • matériaux alternatifs.
retour en haut