SeaBioComp • Development and demonstration of durable biobased composites for a marine environment

SeaBioComp aims to develop demonstrators of innovative biobased thermoplastic composites, with:

  • at least equivalent mechanical properties
  • durability tailored to the specific application (2 to over 20 years)
  • reduced CO2 emissions (30%) and reduced ecotoxic impact (due to microplastics). Since the focus is on thermoplastic composites, the recyclability of the recovered materials will also be demonstrated. Overall, the ecological impact should be reduced by at least 50%.
EuraMaterials-Projet Seabiocomp

It is hoped that this will lead to a shift in mindset along the value chain, as biobased composites become a realistic alternative to their petroleum-based counterparts. Consequently, the concept of a bio-economy for marine applications will be introduced and taken up by numerous SMEs. The authorities can take the demonstrated advantages into account in legislation and public procurement.

The main results expected from SeaBioComp

  • a group of semi-industrial demonstrators of biocomposites, each representing a different composite production technique
  • creation of pilot production equipment for additive manufacturing of fibre-reinforced thermoplastic biocomposites
  • optimised analytical protocols to characterise and demonstrate the effects of the durability and ecotoxicity of biocomposites in a marine environment
  • demonstrated reduction in ecological impact (at least 50%)
  • formation of a collaborative cross-regional cluster (seven RTOs, five industrial partners and three associations) to promote closer, more effective operational collaboration among the key stakeholders within the bio-economy (Key Enabling Technology) and more specifically the biocomposites for the marine environment
SeaBioComp project infographic

The best expertise in the research fields concerning the formulation of biopolymers and the production of textiles, the implementation of composites, durability trials in a marine environment and ecological impact are available in several well-regarded institutes along the ‘two seas area’. For each field, at least two institutes from different regions have been selected to bolster cross-border collaboration and build up the expertise needed to meet the objectives set for this multidisciplinary project.

Associations, public organisations and businesses representing the various regions complete the consortium. This strengthens collaboration, facilitates dissemination and cross-border industrial developments, and will help raise awareness of the biobased economy, supported by public procurement, standardisation and legislation.

Context

Demand for composites for applications in a marine environment is on the rise due to the growth of fish and seaweed farming, energy harvesting, and the boating, pontoon, anchoring and buoy markets. At the moment, only fossil-based resources are used. Concern about the long-term ecological impact is growing. Waste and microplastics are contaminating the sea, harming marine life.

Consequently, renewable materials must be developed to slow the depletion of fossil-based materials, limit greenhouse gas emissions and reduce the ecotoxic impact of microplastics. These materials also have to meet the highest technical performance standards and withstand harsh sea conditions over many years, including mechanical forces, an aggressive environment, and intense UV light.

Key info

Project type: Interreg 2 Seas

Start date: 1 March 2019

Duration: three and a half years

Total cost: €4,129,325.35

ERDF funding: €2,477,595.21

Learn more at http://www.seabiocomp.eu/

Download the project flyer

Flyer projet SeaBioComp - FR

How can I get involved?

Join the SeaBioComp Interest Group to receive updates on project activities, events and results, and encourage efficient collaboration between manufacturers, universities and regulatory authorities: www.seabiocomp.eu/interest_group

retour en haut

SeaBioComp : Développement et démonstrateurs de composites biosourcés durables pour un environnement marin

SeaBioComp vise à développer des démonstrateurs de composites thermoplastiques biosourcés innovants, avec :

  • des propriétés mécaniques au moins équivalentes ;
  • selon l’application, une durabilité sur mesure (2 à > 20 ans);
  • une réduction des émissions de CO2 (30%) et une réduction de l’impact écotoxique (dû aux microplastiques). Comme des composites thermoplastiques sont envisagés, le potentiel de recyclage des matériaux récupérés sera également démontré. Globalement, l’impact écologique devrait être réduit à > 50%.
EuraMaterials-Projet Seabiocomp

Cela doit conduire à un changement d’état d’esprit le long de la chaîne de valeur : les composites biosourcés offrent une alternative réaliste aux homologues pétrosourcés. En conséquence, le concept de bioéconomie pour les applications marines est sensibilisé et implanté par de nombreuses PME. Les autorités peuvent prendre en compte les avantages démontrés par la législation et les marchés publics.

Les principaux résultats attendus de SeaBioComp

  • Un ensemble de démonstrateurs semi-industriels en biocomposites, représentant les différentes techniques de la production des composites
  • Réalisation d’une machine de production pilote pour la fabrication additive pour les biocomposites thermoplastiques renforcés de fibres
  • Des protocoles analytiques optimisés pour caractériser et démontrer les effets de la durabilité et de l’écotoxicité des biocomposites dans un milieu marin
  • Réduction démontrée de l’impact écologique (au moins 50%)
  • Création d’un cluster transrégional collaboratif (7 RTO, 3 associations et 5 partenaires industriels) qui favorisera une coopération plus étroite, plus efficace et opérationnelle entre les acteurs clés de la bioéconomie (Key Enabling Technology) et plus spécifiquement les biocomposites pour l’environnement marin.
SeaBioComp project infographic

Les meilleures expertises dans les domaines de la recherche sur la formulation de biopolymères et la production des textiles, la mise en oeuvre de composites, les essais de durabilité en milieu marin et l’impact écologique, sont disponibles dans plusieurs instituts renommés le long de la “zone des 2 mers”. Pour chaque domaine, au moins deux instituts de différentes régions ont été sélectionnés pour renforcer la  collaboration transfrontalière et rassembler les expertises nécessaires, pour attendre les objectifs définis dans ce  développement pluridisciplinaire.

Des associations, des organisations publiques et des entreprises représentantes les différentes régions complètent le consortium. Cela  renforce la collaboration, facilite la dissémination et les développements industriels transfrontaliers et contribuera à la sensibilisation vers l’économie biosourcée, soutenue par les marchés publics, la normalisation et la législation.

Contexte

La demande de composites pour des applications en milieu marin est en augmentation à cause de la croissance des marchés de la pisciculture et de l’algoculture, de la récupération d’énergie, des bateaux, des pontons, des éléments d’ancrage et de bouées. Actuellement, seulement les composites pétrosourcés sont adoptés. L’inquiétude sur l’impact écologique à long-terme grandit. Les déchets et les microplastiques contaminent la mer, ce qui dégrade la vie marine.

Par conséquent, des matériaux renouvelables devraient être développés afin de réduire l’appauvrissement des matériaux fossiles, limiter les émissions de gaz à effet de serre et réduire l’impact écotoxique des microplastiques. En même temps, les matériaux doivent répondre à l’exigence d’une plus haute performance technique et résister à l’environnement marin sévère à long terme, y compris les charges mécaniques, l’environnement agressif, le rayon UV intense, etc.

Les partenaires

Partenaires associés :

Carte d'identité

Type de projet : Interreg 2 Mers

Date de début : 1er mars 2019

Durée : 3 ans et demi

Coût total : 4 129 325,35 €

Financement FEDER : 2 477 595,21 €

En savoir plus : http://www.seabiocomp.eu/

Flyer projet SeaBioComp - FR Téléchargez le flyer de présentation du projet

Comment s’impliquer ?

Rejoignez le Groupe d’intérêt SeaBioComp pour vous tenir au courant des activités,événements et résultats du projet, mais également pour favoriser une coopération efficace entre industriels, universités et autorités réglementaires :
www.seabiocomp.eu/interest_group

retour en haut