MADMAX • Developing innovative textile processes for the transport sector

Composites are a promising solution for the transport sector.

The MADMAX (Advanced Material Textiles for Reinforced Structures for Complex Lightweight Applications) project created a European platform for high-performance composites. The platform, partly intended for SMEs, encouraged the transfer of scientific advances to applications in the transport sector.

The aim was to create a consortium of private laboratories and universities, supported by the automotive, aeronautic, rail and ship-building industries, to study the possibilities of expanding and standardizing the use of specific composites.

The goal is to develop innovative textile processes and flexible materials with a significant improvement in mechanical behaviour.

Context at the start of the project

In the European Union, 20% of CO2 emissions are generated by road transport. The European Union is therefore setting new standards to reduce the acceptable limits for greenhouse gas emissions for new vehicles sold.

The transport industries will have to design lighter vehicles if they are to comply with these new regulations.

Composite materials can be used to produce lightweight structures with a high energy absorption capability. However, their mechanical behaviour is not fully understood and controlled, and manufacturing processes remain small-scale, for the most part.

Key info

Project type: European Commission – 7th framework programme (FP7)

Start date: 1 August 2013

Project duration: three years

Total cost: €1,254,664.81

ERDF funding: €1,000,000

Commission Européenne - 7th Framework Programme

retour en haut

MADMAX : Assurer le développement de procédés textiles innovants pour le secteur transport

Les composites apparaissent comme une solution prometteuse pour le secteur transport.

MADMAX (Advanced material Textiles for Reinforced Structures for Complex Lightweight Applications) a élaboré une plateforme européenne en matière de composites à hautes performances. Cette plateforme, destinée en parti aux PME, a favorisé le transfert des avancées scientifiques vers les applications dans le secteur des transports.

Le projet a eu pour objectif la création d’un consortium de laboratoires privés et universitaires soutenus par des industriels de l’automobile, de l’aéronautique, du ferroviaire et du naval afin d’étudier les possibilités de diffuser et d’étalonner l’emploi de composites spécifiques.

Le but ultime : assurer le développement de procédés textiles innovants et de matériaux flexibles avec une amélioration significative du comportement mécanique.

Contexte

20% des émissions de CO2 dans l’Union Européenne sont dus au transport routier. Ainsi, l’Union Européenne met en place de nouvelles normes visant à réduire les limites acceptables d’émissions de gaz à effet de serre pour les nouveaux véhicules vendus.

Les industries du transport doivent alors développer des véhicules plus légers si elles veulent respecter ces nouvelles réglementations.

Or les matériaux composites permettent des structures légères avec une grande capacité d’absorption d’énergie. Cependant leur comportement mécanique n’est pas complétement compris et maitrisé, et les procédés de fabrication restent principalement artisanaux.

Type de projet : Commission Européenne – 7th Framework Programme de la  (FP7)

Date de début : 1er août 2013

Durée du projet : 3 ans

Coût total : 1 254 664, 81 €

Financement FEDER : 1 000 000 €

Commission Européenne - 7th Framework Programme

retour en haut