COBRACOMP • Braided textiles to boost the competitiveness of the composite materials industry in North-West Europe

Projet Interreg NWE Cobracomp

The objective of the Interreg NWE COBRACOMP project is to develop, test and validate a new automated textile braiding process for the production of preforms for composite materials reinforcement.

Eight industrial, academic and cluster partners formed a partnership led by EuraMaterials to implement the project activities.

Over the course of the project, two innovative braiding machines will be developed to manufacture two new textile braid architectures, as well as digital simulation and part design tools. Two technological demonstrators will be manufactured to validate the technical and economic feasibility of the new process, from the textile reinforcement to the final part.

The creation of a transnational network on the theme of composite materials using braids will help disseminate information to all project targets. This network will also help sustain the use of project results after its completion.

The COBRACOMP project will strengthen the competitiveness of companies in the composite materials production value chain.

Context

The North-West Europe area is a key region for the global composite materials value chain. The composite market is growing by 5% each year and end users are looking for mass-produced parts. In North-West Europe, this manufacturing industry suffers from a lack of competitiveness and is exposed to competition from countries where labour is cheap.

However, it is possible to reverse the trend by boosting the competitiveness of companies, enabling them to innovate through rapid, automated and repeatable manufacturing processes. In particular, the method used to manufacture and process textile reinforcements needs improvement.

Key info

Project type: Interreg NWE

Start date: 10 January 2019

Duration: four years

Total cost: €3,540,000

Funding: €2,120,000

Learn more at nweurope.eu/cobracomp

retour en haut

COBRACOMP – Braided Textiles to improve the competitiveness of Composite Materials industry in NWE

Projet Interreg NWE Cobracomp

L’objectif du projet Interreg NWE COBRACOMP est de mettre au point, tester et valider un nouveau procédé de tressage textile automatisé pour la fabrication de préformes à destination de renforts de matériaux composites. Dans ce cadre 8 partenaires industriels, académiques et associations ont formés un partenariat coordonné par EuraMaterials, afin de mettre en œuvre les activités du projet.

Au cours du projet, deux machines de tressage innovantes seront développées pour fabriquer deux architectures de tresses textiles innovantes, ainsi que des outils de simulation numérique et de conception de pièces. Deux démonstrateurs technologiques seront réalisés afin de valider la faisabilité technico économique du nouveau procédé, du renfort textile à la pièce finale.

La création d’un réseau transnational sur le thème des matériaux composites à base de tresses permettra de diffuser des informations à toutes les cibles du projet. Ce réseau contribuera également à favoriser et pérenniser l’utilisation des résultats du projet après sa fin.

Le projet COBRACOMP permettra de renforcer la compétitivité des entreprises de la chaîne de valeur des matériaux composites.

Contexte

La zone Europe du Nord-Ouest est une région clé pour la chaîne de valeur mondiale des matériaux composites. Le marché des composites est en croissance (5% / an) et les utilisateurs finaux recherchent des pièces produites en grande série. En Europe du Nord-Ouest, cette industrie manufacturière souffre d’un manque de compétitivité et est soumise à la concurrence des pays à bas coût de main d’œuvre.

Néanmoins, il est possible d’inverser la tendance en renforçant la compétitivité des entreprises, en leur permettant d’innover grâce à des processus de fabrication rapides, automatisés et reproductibles. En particulier, il est nécessaire d’innover sur le mode de fabrication et de mise en œuvre des renforts textiles.

Carte d'identité

Type de projet : Interreg NWE

Date de début : 10 janvier 2019

Durée : 4 ans

Coût total : 3 540 000 €

Financement : 2 120 000 €

En savoir plus : www.nweurope.eu/cobracomp

retour en haut