ALPO • New polymer materials from microalgal biomass

Projet FWVL ALPO

ALPO aims to develop new biobased plastic and composite solutions from microalgae. Microalgal biomass does not compete with the food industry and is cheap compared to biomass from food or agriculture streams. The project’s applications include proposing new grades of (bio)plastics and composites in the biomedical, textile and automotive fields.

Context

Renewable feedstocks are becoming more common in the plastics processing industry, particularly for packaging and textiles. The determination of the public authorities and the general public to reduce greenhouse gas emissions is driving plastics processors to develop new biobased materials with advanced properties.

However, Europe and the France-Wallonie-Vlaanderen cross-border area are lagging behind in the development of these kinds of biopolymers. The design of new (bio)plastics with high added value is a strategic investment sector for the development of the economic activity of SMEs and large companies in the area.

Our role

As one of the project’s associated partners, EuraMaterials helps:

  • share project results with businesses that are members of the cluster
  • raise awareness of the project and identify industrial requirements

Partners

Key info

Project type: Interreg VA FWV

Start date: 1 October 2016

Duration: four years

Learn more at http://www.alpo-interreg.eu/

retour en haut

ALPO : De nouveaux matériaux polymères issus de la biomasse microalgue

Projet FWVL ALPO

L’objectif du projet ALPO est de développer des nouvelles solutions biosourcées dans le cadre des plastiques et de leur composite au départ de microalgues. Les microalgues offrent une biomasse non-compétitive et bon marché par rapport à celles issues de l’alimentaire et de l’agriculture. Les applications du projet sont de proposer des grades (bio)plastiques et composites dans les domaines biomédical, textile et automobile.

Contexte

L’utilisation des matières premières renouvelables se généralise en plasturgie, notamment dans l’emballage et le textile. La volonté de réduire l’émission des gaz à effet de serre de la population et des pouvoirs publics pousse les utilisateurs de matières plastiques à développer de nouveaux matériaux biosourcés avec des propriétés performantes.

Cependant, le développement de tels biopolymères reste en retrait en Europe, et dans la zone transfrontalière FWVL. La conception de nouveaux (bio)plastiques à haute valeur ajoutée est un secteur stratégique à investir pour le développement d’une activité économique des PME et grandes entreprises de cette zone.

Notre rôle

Partenaire associé du projet, EuraMaterials a participé à la :

  • Dissémination des résultats du projet auprès d’entreprises membres du cluster
  • Sensibilisation au projet et l’émergence des besoins industriels

Les partenaires

Carte d'identité

Type de projet : Interreg VA FWV

Date de début : 1er octobre 2016

Durée : 4 ans

En savoir plus : http://www.alpo-interreg.eu/

retour en haut